The World’s Greatest Chocolate Cupcake

3 Jan

… or chocolate peppermint cupcake I should say. And it’s vegan to boot. ; )

Once again, I got the base cupcake and frosting recipe from my favorite, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World. The frosting is a chocolate mousse- and it contains- get this, tofu! I made some of these for one of my mom’s church events, and all those tofu/vegan wary people thought they were to die for, and were shocked they were vegan!

Vegan Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes:
Makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:
1 cup  soy milk
1 teaspoon vinegar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup canola oil2 teaspoons peppermint extract
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, and prepare your muffin tin with liners.

Mix together the soy milk and vinegar, let curdle for several minutes.  Once curdled, add the oil, sugar, and peppermint extract and beat until foamy.

Add all the dry ingredients in two additions, and beat until there are no large lumps in the batter.

Dish out into the cupcake liners, and bake about 20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Let cool before frosting.

Amazing Chocolate Mousse Frosting

Ingredients:
1 (12.3oz) package of firm silken tofu
1/4 cup plain soy milk
2 tablespoons agave syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (you could use peppermint, but I didn’t want the peppermint to overpower the cupcakes)
12 oz. semisweet chocolate chips

Directions:
Melt the chocolate. Let cool for about 5 minutes.

Add the tofu, soy milk, agave, and vanilla to the blender and blend until smooth. Add the chocolate, and blend until incorporated.

Refrigerate for about an hour, until firm.

Pipe onto cupcakes, and sprinkle with crushed up candy canes if desired. It’s the perfect holiday treat. I do realize, the holidays are over : / Guess you’ll have to save this one for next year. Although, It is a great way to use up those leftover candy canes. I know my grocery store has carts full of them at the checkout that they give away for free once Christmas is over.

I’ve been spending a lot of my time lately looking for jobs, as well as entering some baking contests. One is the Chocolate Adventure Contest, which ended yesterday. The other is the ZenSoy Contest at GoDairyFree.org. It’s an amazing website if you are lactose intolerant or have a milk allergy. This contest ends January 15th, I highly recommend you check it out! I’m keeping my lips sealed on my entries for these contests however. Keep your fingers crossed for me!

My next post I’m going to give ya’ll the recipe for a delicious Banana cupcake with ganache filling, and peanut butter cream cheese frosting! See you soon!

5 Responses to “The World’s Greatest Chocolate Cupcake”

  1. Shelvasha January 3, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    See, now why did you have to post something so tempting 🙂 ! I’m trying to eat less sugar, but I think I’m going to have to make an exception in the case of these cupcakes. They really look like the greatest cupcakes in the world.

  2. Shelvasha January 3, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    See, now why did you have to post something so tempting 🙂 ! I’m trying to eat less sugar, but I think I’m going to have to make an exception in the case of these cupcakes. They really look like the greatest cupcakes in the world.

  3. chefpriyanka January 3, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    So cute! And awesome that they’re vegan! I made similar (not vegan) Snowy Chocolate Cupcakes a few weeks back, and I actually took pretty similar pictures!! http://wp.me/p15gh6-bZ
    Great post & pictures 🙂

  4. caronlyn January 3, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Looks delicious! And I’m glad to hear you’re spreading the goodness of veganism through baking. I’ve found that’s the best way to win people over!

  5. scriptorobscura January 6, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Yum! They look so delicious!

    You might be interested in Chef Chloe, who is a vegan chef with lots of recipes, including one for cupcakes that you might like.

    http://www.chefchloe.com/

    You have a great blog 🙂

Leave a comment