Must Haves For Your Bookshelf

23 Dec

I’d have to say I have at least 100 cookbooks. Brownies, cookies, cupcakes, cakes, breads, vegetarian meals, chocolate, cocktails, and just general baking books. I do have a few favorites however, They are not only staples in my kitchen, but my life as well and I thought I’d share them with you.

The first is a no-brainer, and I’ve mentioned it before in my Strawberry Kiwi Cupcake post. Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. It’s a great book. I love making cupcakes, and there are so many different recipes in this book to choose from, There’s a cupcake for everyone.

The next one I use not for it’s recipes, but for it’s pictures and decorating ideas. It’s Hello, Cupcake! They can make anything out of cupcakes! I mean, they’ve got the famous painting Starry Night done out of cupcakes. If you like decorating cupcakes, I highly recommend you check out this book!

Moving on from cupcakes, this book is called Booze Cakes. I’ve always been fascinated by the flavors of cocktails and alcohol in baked goods, so when I saw this book I had to get it. The recipes even have little ‘booze meters’ to let you know how much alcohol is in each bite, and it’s a great resource for baking with alcohol. The recipes I’ve made in this book have been delicious (Like rum and coke whoopee pies, pumpkin martini cupcakes, and long island iced tea cake) but most of them don’t taste extremely strong of alcohol. And the recipes are really easy to make dairy free!

This is the last baking book on this post, but It’s a good one, and it will teach you all about the science of baking. It’s called How Baking Works. One of the Food Science professors at Johnson & Wales (Where I went to school) wrote it. It ‘s a great help if you like creating recipes, it lets you know if baking soda or powder is better, and how acids and fats affect a baked good.

This next one is what helped me through my terrible time of giving up dairy. (You can read all about it in the My Diet post.) Go Dairy Free explains the science behind lactose intolerance and milk allergies, and gives great recipes as well. What I loved most about this book was all the dairy substitutes it gave. I never knew you could substitute so many things for butter! It’s also got a great chapter on egg substitutes as well.

Last but not least, I would be nowhere without this book. I don’t know if I would have graduated from college, it’s that important to me. It’s the Flavor Bible. It lists every ingredient under the sun. And then it goes on to tell you every flavor that pairs well with it! It’s a lifesaver if you want to make something extra special.

So there you go!  6 great books that get me though breakfast, lunch, dinner, and of course, dessert.

10 Responses to “Must Haves For Your Bookshelf”

  1. Dionne Baldwin December 23, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    These are great picks! I wonder if it’s too late to update my list to Santa…I think the last 3 are my absolute favorites just by the title. I must have them!

  2. nancyc December 23, 2010 at 4:34 pm #

    Those all sound like great books! I’m especially interrested in getting the one called “How Baking Works”-that sounds really good!

  3. Amy @ Everything is Homemade December 23, 2010 at 4:55 pm #

    I love the book Go Dairy Free. I checked it out from the library awhile back and since then I’ve been watching for it at my local used bookstore. But I think I’m going to have to break down and buy it new because it’s never there!

    I just love cupcakes. I used to make them for weddings and showers all the time, but lately I haven’t been making them much. I am however going to whip up a festive batch of red velvet tomorrow!

  4. Tiffany December 23, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    How Baking Works sounds really interesting!

  5. Kwokmun December 23, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    I own “The Flavor Bible” too. Love it!

  6. ezsrecipes December 24, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Hi there! Thank you for coming by my blog and saying hello! I see that “Hello, Cupcake” book in stores a lot and am always tempted to buy it. Great list! Have a Merry Christmas!

  7. fifteenspatulas December 24, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    YES! I love the flavor bible!

  8. Green Girl December 24, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    I have the flavor bible too, is a cheaper version of the food encyclopedia, but still a really good book.
    I have to look into the baking cook you mentioned.

    Happy Holidays

  9. Christine December 26, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I have The Flavor Bible and Booze Cakes! They’re both fabulous books. :)

    I’ll have to check out How Baking Works — I wonder if it’s similar to Ratio?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

